Skip to main content
Maritime Forum

Outermost regions discuss how to boost blue economy amid COVID-19 crisis

An online webinar

On 25 June, 2020, the European Commission organised an online outermost regions webinar with the participation of representatives from the EU’s nine outermost regions. Discussions focused on blue economy development and recovery measures taken by the EU due to the COVID-19 crisis, such as state aid measures and dedicated support from the European Maritime and Fisheries Fund (EMFF).

The participants also discussed the outcome of the report ‘Methodological Assistance for the Outermost Regions to Support their Efforts to Develop Blue Economy Strategies’, which is about to be finalised and published, providing a useful tool for the local governments of the regions.


(see the attachments on the right column)

More information

The European Union counts nine Outermost Regions (ORs) of which six are French (Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Mayotte, Reunion and Saint-Martin), one is Spanish (Canary Islands), and two are Portuguese (The Azores and Madeira).

Outermost regions